Jean Black

Research Associate

Off campus
mjblack@email.unc.edu

Lindsay C. Bloch

Research Associate

Historical archaeology, craft production, ceramic technology, archaeometry, plantation archaeology, African diaspora

Off campus
lindsaybloch@gmail.com

Rachel V. Briggs

Teaching Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Foodways, gender, and identity; social complexity and the emergence of complex societies; hominy and maize; Mississippian, proto-historic, and historic periods in the Southeastern United States

Alumni 409H
rvbriggs@email.unc.edu
allthingshominy.com/

Drew Coleman

Professor of Geological Sciences

Geoarchaeology, Isotope geochemistry, geochronology

Mitchell Hall 325
(919) 962-0705
dcoleman@email.unc.edu
www.geosci.unc.edu/page/drew-s-coleman

Eric Deetz

Teaching Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Historical archaeology, material culture of western Europe, North America

Alumni Hall 112
(919) 962-6574
deetz@email.unc.edu
www.pbs.org/video/2365020877/

Kathleen DuVal

Professor of History

Ethnohistory, American Indians, gender, North America

Hamilton Hall 466
(919) 962-5545
duval@email.unc.edu
history.unc.edu/people/faculty/kathleen-a-duval

Mary Elizabeth Fitts

Research Associate

Historical Archaeology, archaeobotany, spatial analysis and GIS, public archaeology, eastern North America

Off Campus
mbfitts@unc.edu
www.unc.edu/~mbfitts

Elizabeth Jones

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Historical Anthropology of Europe, Ethnohistory, historical demography, historical ecology, GIS landscape studies

Alumni Hall 108
(919) 962-6574
jonesea@email.unc.edu
anthropology.unc.edu/person/elizabeth-jones

Bennie Keel

Research Associate; Director, Southeast Archaeological Center (retired)

Prehistoric archaeology, historic archaeology, public archaeology, southeastern United States

Off campus
benkeel@comcast.net

Valerie Lambert

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Cultural anthropology, American Indians, tribal sovereignty, nation building and tribal governance, United States

Alumni Hall 413B
(919) 843-7808
vlambert@email.unc.edu
anthropology.unc.edu/person/valerie-lambert

Anselmo Lastra

Professor of Computer Science

Computer graphics, image-based rendering, 3-D architectural modeling

Sitterson Hall 238
(919) 962-1958
lastra@cs.unc.edu
lastra.web.unc.edu

Wayne Lee

Professor of History

Early modern military history, history of violence, archaeology, North America, Atlantic, northern Albania

Hamilton Hall 400
(919) 768-8079
wlee@unc.edu
history.unc.edu/people/faculty/wayne-lee

Malinda Maynor Lowery

Associate Professor of History; Director, Southern Oral History Program

Native American history, oral history, southern history, southeastern North America

Hamilton Hall 474
(919) 962-2115
mmaynor@email.unc.edu
history.unc.edu/people/faculty/malinda-maynor-lowery

Erin Stevens Nelson

Research Associate

Archaeology, complex societies, community and identity studies, foodways, GIS and spatial analysis, southeastern US

Off campus
elsteven@email.unc.edu
anthropology.unc.edu/person/erin-s-nelson

Theda Perdue

Professor Emerita of History

Ethnohistory, Cherokees, Native American women, southeastern United States

Off campus
tperdue@email.unc.edu
history.unc.edu/people/emeriti-faculty/theda-perdue

John G. Pleasants, Jr.

Visiting Scholar, Archaeology

Archaeology, complex societies, architecture and culture, , GIS, Central Andes

Off campus
jpleasan@email.unc.edu

Theresa McReynolds Shebalin

Research Associate

Archaeology, spatial analysis & GIS, soil chemistry, public outreach, K-12 curriculum development, southeastern US

Off campus
tmshebalin@alumni.unc.edu

Donna Surge

Associate Professor of Geological Sciences

Paleoclimatology, paleoecology of shellfish and finfish, low-temperature geochemistry, archaeological geology

Mitchell Hall 225
(919) 843-1994
donna64@unc.edu
www.geosci.unc.edu/page/donna-m-surge

Richard Talbert

Kenan Professor of History and Classics

History of the classical world, Greek and Roman spatial perceptions, ancient mapping

Hamilton Hall 516
(919) 962-3942
talbert@email.unc.edu
history.unc.edu/people/faculty/richard-j-a-talbert-2

Gabrielle Vail

Research Associate

Archaeology and ethnohistory, cultural astronomy, Maya codices, cultural heritage, social identity, textile technologies, Mesoamerica, Andes

Off campus
vailg@email.unc.edu
mayacodices.org/